First Quarter Wrap-Up

Reading has been a strange experience for me recently. I either don’t read for a few days or blast through ten volumes of a manga in a couple of hours. I feel like I’ve been swinging between extremes since the beginning of the year, its been frustrating. I thought I would do a quarterly wrap-up of some of my favorite books and some I plan to read this year.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber – This was my first read of the year, it kicked it off to a good start. While it was nothing like I expected, having seen it compared to Night Circus; I still enjoyed the story and world it created. I even got a chance to review this in a regional magazine (Panama City Living) which was a fantastic experience. I have been recommending this to a lot of coworkers, none of them could work out the twist either which made me feel loads better.

A Game of Thrones: The Illustrated Edition by George R.R. Martin – I had read this a few years back but received the anniversary edition for Christmas so I decided to start at the beginning of the series. This was a new way of experiencing the book, the illustrations added so much more than I anticipated. I found myself wrapped up in the world and falling in love with the series all over again. I read the next two books in the series but have yet to pick up the fourth. I quickly got burned out on 1000 page (or more) books so I had to move onto other things. Still have no interest in watching the show though.

Fairy Tail by Hiro Mashima – This is where my reading got a little messed up. I had read the first few volumes and decided to give myself a break from The Song of Fire and Ice series with these. Then I read the remaining volumes out of the 59 currently out in the United States. I became obsessed. Still am to be honest. It also started me on reading many other mangas this year. Its not a bad thing, I just tend to balance my manga with longer books usually. But I have gone down that rabbit hole and don’t see myself crawling out anytime soon.

Fairy Tail Zero by Hiro Mashima – On that note, this part of the series in particular got to me. Its only a single volume. While you could read it without reading the rest of the series, I wouldn’t suggest it. This shows the foundation of the main guild in the series and the backstories of a few key characters. It was absolutely heart-breaking and made me feel for a character that I never thought I could care about. Definitely one of my favorite parts of the entire series.

Anne Boleyn: A King’s Obsession by Allison Weir – I just read this book recently but I absolutely adored it. Finally, a portrayal of Anne that I can get behind. She was manipulative but also vulnerable, it was nice to see all the sides of her through her seduction of Henry and her downfall. It got me back into the Tudor frenzy – so I started rewatching the series for the millionth time. I also plan to pick up more of her books, and other Tudor-based books soon. I think that might get me out of the slump.

There are so many good books coming out this year that I want to read but I will contain my list of things I want to read in 2017 to books that are already currently out. Maybe I’ll go on a reading spree in the next couple of weeks.

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab – How I haven’t already picked this up, I don’t really know. Part of me is so scared to read the end of the trilogy though.

Silence Fallen by Patricia Briggs – My favorite fantasy series has a new book and I haven’t read it yet. I read the last book the day it came out. Why am I procrastinating? Also, the art for the cover is even more beautiful than usual.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff – I read the first few pages and then had to put it down – though I can’t remember why – but they were enthralling. Definitely need to pick this one up soon. They just revealed the cover for the sequel and damn.

A Man Called Ove by Fredrick Backman – I am so far behind everyone else. I know the book is going to be amazing, I even own it already. I just need to read it and all of his other amazing books.

How do you book? I am having a hard time doing the book thing right now. I have so many books staring me down from my shelves, waiting to be read. Sometimes it can be intimidating to just pick one to read. This year, I want to reduce the number of unread books that I own. That will probably entail more purging than reading but we shall see, here’s to  hoping I go on a reading binge in the next quarter.

What’s your favorite book so far this year? Any anticipated releases coming up?

Leave a Reply

