January Favorites

Where has the month gone? I feel like the first month of 2017 has just flown by without me even realizing. There were so many tasks I had hoped to accomplish this month and never even started, I just didn’t realize how quickly the days where disappearing. Even now, trying to write this post, days have gone between each section added because there is so much to do. I can feel the weight of school getting heavier as I get closer to graduation. Despite all that, I managed to read some awesome books this month. Maybe one day I will get reviews out for all of them.

Travel with a book

I’m traveling today and trying to get as much done as possible, hopefully some reviews will get written in between assignments.

Caraval by Stephanie Garber ☆☆☆☆☆

My first read of 2017 was magnificent. There was so much hype around this book that I was worried it would fall flat for me. While I did have a few issues with the book, it was overwhelmingly a positive experience. I won’t be writing a review for this blog as I already have one coming out in a local magazine (you can’t hear it but I’m screaming on this side of the screen).

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon ☆☆☆☆

Buddy read with Allison, she has a review up that you could go check out. I haven’t gotten around to writing mine yet even though I read it three weeks ago, one day I will get it together. I really loved this one though, I had heard some mixed reviews previously but was glad that I ended up liking it. Warden is bae. I could tell I was going to like him by the end of the book even though he was a total douche for the majority of the book. I haven’t picked up the sequel yet but I do plan to soon.

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin ☆☆☆☆☆

Before you call bandwagon, I had read the first two books in the Song of Ice and Fire series years ago. When they first announced the show, my mom and I were going to watch it together so we read the books. We never got around to watching the show and I never got around to finishing the book series. However, picking them up year later, I love them even more this time around. I was gifted the Illustrated Edition of this book for Christmas which made the experience even more amazing. I binge read this and quickly went onto the rest of the series.

I only DNF-ed one book this month and I saw it coming from the first couple of page. The Turn of the Screw by Henry James was just so boring that I couldn’t subject myself to the rest of the book (only 87 pages) so I had to set it aside. I don’t see myself ever finishing it or picking up any of his other books in the future.

Aside from books, I had some other favorites this month.

Cinderella and Four Knights ☆☆☆☆

Great k-drama. Heavy on the drama but I loved every moment of it. This girl gets kicked out of her house and ends up living with four insanely rich (and hot) guys. She falls for one as three of them fall for her. I really loved the story it told and wish the drama was longer, like I do with basically all of them.

Bob Ross ☆☆☆☆☆

Can I just give this a million stars? Michael and I started watching him New Year’s Eve and that was a great way to start my year. Now we watch it whenever we need to calm down or just want to relax. Even watching him make every stroke, mountains and trees seem to appear out of nowhere.

Resident Evil 7 ☆☆☆☆☆

We’ve only had the game a week and we are almost done. This is one of the scariest games I’ve ever experience but I can’t stop playing. I’ve never played any of the previous games or watched any of the movies. Come to find out, this will basically start the series from the beginning so I actually didn’t need to know anything to start with. There are so many swerves in this game, it was a terrifying and amazing experience. Though I mostly enjoy watching someone else play because I’m super easy to scare.

Bullet Journal ☆☆☆☆

image2-1

While it takes a lot of work to set-up, I find myself looking forward to my time each day to work on it. I especially love setting up the next week on Sundays, its nice way to relax after turning in all of my assignments for the week. However, this has led me to start hoarding stationery again. Target dollar spot, I’m looking at you.

Though the month zoomed by, I feel like I still managed to stay ahead of my assignments and not getting completely overwhelmed like I have in past semesters. As for my extra goals for the month, I will carry them over to February and hope I have more time to work on them this month. I’m just trying to remind myself that I don’t have to do absolutely everything to be productive and happy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

